October 10, 2011- The state of California has banned minors from using tanning beds. California Governor Jerry Brown on Sunday signed a new bill that prohibits those less than 18 years old to use tanning beds.
The bill signing made California the first state in the country to outlaw the use of the ultraviolet tanning beds for minors. The previous law had outlawed the use for minors who were less than 14 years old. However, it allowed the 14 to 18 age group to use the devices as long as they had their parents consent.
The new bill signing was one of dozens the governor signed on Sunday. The bill was designed to help improve the overall well-being and health of residents of California said a press release from the office of the Governor.
The sponsor of the bill, Ted Lieu a state Senator, praised Governor Brown for signing the bill. He said, “We received some needed protection for some of the vulnerable residents of California, our kids.”
He went on to say, “If the true dangers of these beds were known by everyone, they would be surprised and shocked. Skin cancer is an increasing problem and causes many deaths for women in their late twenties.” The law will be enforced starting January 1, 2012.